Time

“As long as the sun is shining, I’m here with you”, he whispered to my right ear. His breath dewed in the hot flow of alcohol and tobacco scent. 

At the same time, a stream of warm water was also gliding through my heart. The man who appears to be cold and reserved, then had his fingers entwined with mine and made the promise that lasts for a lifetime. To be with someone for the rest of our insignificant lifetime, I wasn’t strong enough to give my heart for this. A lifetime, such neither a short period nor a long one. People talk a lot about how harsh the storm of time could be, yet not many of them can fathom the absurdity of it. The spell that time casts on human fate, in a sense, is the most ferocious one. 

Under the moonlight, his eye sockets appeared to be much more profound than usual. People like us who have already reached the age that can be both bold and afraid of the uncertainty of life. How many nights like this do we have left? 

“Even the sun also has the expiration date.” Said I while tracing along his thin lips. I read somewhere that people who have this kind of facial feature are usually promiscuous and unable to love anyone with their whole heart and soul. Is he one of them?

“You and your science things again.” He gave out a slight smile. Although girding us was the dimness, I still could see my reflection in his keen but tender eyes.

“So, what thing can last for good?” He continued.

“This moment, the present moment is eternal.” There were countless times that I used to want to confine this love into a safe and bury it deep into the ground where it can’t be found by anyone or at any time. Hence our love will last along with this earth even when all humanity is long gone. It was so naive of me to think so. The flow of time is continually shifting. Accordingly, no one can tell for sure when the past, the present, or the future is. 

‘The past’ is emplaced into our mind, ‘the future’ will never come, and ‘the present’ proceeds to infinity. Our story had already been embroidered into the flow of time, and we had already been together for eternity. You and I, be one and nothing. 

“So we will be, no, we are here forever, till the end of time?” 

“It seems so.”

“I’m glad it is so.” Said he. 

Therefore, I can be here with you for the rest of this lifetime and many ones after. Among this vast universe, there are infinite chances that our paths won’t intertwine, still, now I’m blessed with you in my embrace. Even just for a split second, thinking about not having you in my life, crashes my heart and soul.   
You, my love, my reason for everything.

6:41 am, 18/11/21.

Leave a comment